0 1 min 7 mths

India has abstained for the third time in a Security Council vote on Ukraine, stating that it supports Ukraine’s determination to pursue talks with Russia.

India, along with two other Asian countries, China and the United Arab Emirates, were the only countries to vote no on a procedural resolution on Sunday to have the 193-member United Nations General Assembly take up the Russian invasion of Ukraine at an emergency meeting.
Russia’s dissenting vote had no veto authority, and it was supported by 11 members of the 15-member Council from Europe, the Americas, and Africa.
The Council has convened an emergency meeting of the Assembly for the first time in 40 years, after the United States rejected a resolution criticising Israel’s occupation of the Syrian Golan Heights in 1982.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.